Entry bans extended until 1 July 2020


The European Commission (EC) has recommended that all EU countries extend their current COVID-19-related temporary entry bans until 1 July 2020. The Dutch government has adopted the recommendation from the EC.

Entry Bans

The entry bans restrict all non-essential travel from third countries into Europe (i.e. all EU member states, all Schengen members and the UK). The travel restriction does not apply to those who fall within one of the exception categories:

Diplomatic Posts

Additionally, all consular departments of Dutch diplomatic posts abroad remain closed until further notice. However, Dutch diplomatic posts can make an exception for limited categories of persons if local circumstances allow for such an exception. It concerns the following categories of persons:

  • Family members of Dutch citizens with a MVV approval for the purpose of stay ‘family’;
  • Persons in possession of an expired MVV who were not able to travel to the Netherlands within the 90-day validity period of the MVV due to the COVID-19 restrictions;
  • Persons for whom the application for a MVV was approved by the IND and the appointment for the MVV application at the Dutch diplomatic post was cancelled due to the COVID-19 restrictions.

Whether a Dutch diplomatic post can issue the MVV depends on the local situation. Dutch diplomatic posts abroad may not be able to open their consular department due to a lock down or other local restrictions relating to public health and/or safety. Please contact the Dutch diplomatic post directly to see if it is possible to have the MVV (re)issued.

Should you have any questions or concerns regarding entry bans, please do not hesitate to contact us ([email protected]).

Back to overview

Would you like to speak to an expert for your cross-border employment matters?

Request a free consultation